Home > Staff Profiles > Staff profile time!

Staff profile time!

Meet Sansom Advisor Michael!

Place of Origin and where you live now:
Mercer, PA
Sansom Place West

What are you studying?
I study Mechanical Engineering, specifically robotics.

 

What do you do at Sansom?

I am the Sansom Advisor for floors 9 and 10.

How long have you worked here?

This is my second year as an SA and as a Sansom resident.

What is your favorite part about working at Sansom?

I really enjoy putting on good events for my residents.  It’s always great to see people take a break, have some fun, and meet new people.  It’s really great to be the one that facilitates the interactions.

What was your favorite day at Sansom?

My favorite day at Sansom was the Labor Day BBQ last year.  I did a bunch of the cooking, and man do I love grilling.  During the summer, you just can’t beat grilling.  Even though I got so filthy that I needed two showers, it was still an awesome event.  Everybody had a great time and great food.

So, what do you do when you are not in Sansom?

I’m trying to finish up my Master’s Thesis right now, so you’ll most likely find me in the Multi-Robot Systems Lab, part of the GRASP Robotics Lab.  I am currently designing a new gripper to outfit a robotic helicopter with the ability to catch and throw objects as well as perch on a wall.

Favorite Sansom Memory?
My favorite memory of Sansom was last year’s staff training.  Coming in I had no idea what to expect and didn’t know anyone else on staff.  Training was long and occasionally exhausting, but by the end I came out with a group of friends I knew I could count on.  It was pretty cool.

For curiosity, what is your favorite movie, musical group, and book?

I watch a lot of movies, so it’s hard to pick a favorite.  I guess Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, but Children of Men is a close second.  Musical group is another tough one.  I have to currently go with Gorillaz, but lately I can’t get enough of Citizen Cope.  Book: American Psycho.  Bret Easton Ellis made me think I was crazy when I read that book.  Creepy.  Awesome.

Favorite place to go around Sansom?

You’ll find me at Wawa after midnight.  That’s when most of my work gets done, whether Wawa is my favorite or not, it’s open 24/7.  Can’t beat that.

 

Categories: Staff Profiles
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

